Announcing The Inaugural Energy Professional Awards 2020!


Energy Professional Awards 2020

Energy professionals in East Africa’s energy industry have been making great strides towards creating energy impact locally, regionally, and globally. The Inaugural Energy Professional Awards 2020 seeks to bridge the current gap and serve as a rewards and recognition platform to celebrate energy professionals in East Africa.

Whilst organizations making energy efficiency strides have existing platforms, energy professionals need a forum to highlight their achievements. The World Energy Day Celebrations 2020 will hosting an energy professionals’ awards dinner on 23rd October 2020 to recognize Energy Achievers who contribute towards the growth and development of the Energy Sector. The Energy Professional Award Winners will be feted at this event.

Award Categories

Energy Innovator of The Year

Energy Auditor of The Year

Energy Communicator/Journalist of The Year

Energy Social Impact Award

Young Energy Professional of The Year

Renewable Energy Professional of The Year

Professional Energy Woman of The Year

Energy Champion of The Year

Phase 1Call for nominations7th-28th September 2020
Phase 2Judges shortlist candidates1st - 7th October 2020
Phase 3Public voting per category9th - 19th October 2020
Phase 4Winners announced23rd October 2020

Eligibility Criteria

World Energy Day Awards are presented to individuals who have shown outstanding performance in the field of energy, either at local, regional, or international level. Each category provides descriptions of what is required for each per award.

Nomination Criteria

  • Every award addresses a unique area and all nominations submitted should describe the nominee’s proficiency in that category.
  • All projects described in the nomination submitted should be successfully running for at least 6 months. Future plans, projects, or goals are not considered.
  • Submissions may be an innovation, an intervention, or an initiative that is not necessarily a project e.g. training or community work.
  • Both nominators and nominees may be contacted to verify the information submitted in the nomination.



Energy Innovator of the year
This category recognizes the most outstanding innovator in the energy space. Individuals nominated for this category should have developed an outstanding and innovative project that has an impact on energy efficiency, renewable energy, or any other energy-related technologies. The innovations submitted in this category should demonstrate something novel or a new angle or a new concept etc. and should not a duplication of an existing project in different geography.

Energy auditor of the year
This award is presented to an individual for exceptional accomplishments in promoting the practices, principles, and procedures of energy auditing. The nominee’s energy auditing accomplishments need to have had a demonstrable impact in the industry. The recipient must be a registered energy auditor.

Energy communicator/journalist of the year
This award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding strides in communicating energy news, articles or stories. The communication needs to have been consistent, covering energy topics that are designed to create energy awareness and advocacy and have had their work published for public consumption.

Energy Social Impact Award
This award is awarded to an individual with a remarkable energy project that benefits the community or those in need. The project needs to demonstrate an intervention that makes a difference for the community or specific special needs group or institution and needs to have a community or target group ownership element for a sustainable outcome.

Young Energy Professional of the year
This award is presented to individuals aged 30 years and younger who have made exceptional accomplishments in energy. This could be the development of an innovative project, a socially impactful intervention, or an initiative that has a significant impact on the energy space.

Renewable energy professional of the year
This award is presented to individuals with outstanding projects in renewable energy including solar, wind, geothermal, hydroelectric, etc. The projects need to have demonstrated the creation of or uptake or use of renewable energy with specific results in the areas of deployment.

Professional energy woman of the year
This award recognizes the most outstanding woman in the energy industry based on their work promoting the practices, principles, and procedures of energy efficiency, renewable energy, clean energy initiatives, energy inclusion, energy funding, or any other outstanding work in the energy sector.

Energy champion of the year
This category recognizes the individual that has had the most impact on the transformation of the energy industry in East Africa. The awardee for this category will need to be nominated and have won in one of the other seven categories above. The nominees need to have demonstrated an impact in a wide variety of energy areas and be the initiator, champion, and driving force behind the energy activities or projects.


Nomination form

    Due Diligence Guidelines

    Once the nomination period lapses, the World Energy Day committee will conduct due diligence to establish whether the information provided in the nomination submissions is correct and valid. Any inaccurate information will be grounds for the disqualification of a nominee. The World Energy Day Awards do not tolerate plagiarism and will disqualify any projects that have been submissions that have been plagiarized. Plagiarism and submission of false, inaccurate or embellished information can lead to a nominees blacklisting from future awards.

    Judging Criteria

    AchievementsThe judges will look out for the achievements that warrant the nominee’s nomination for the category.
    These could be completed or running projects.
    InnovationJudges will be looking out for the creativity of the solutions
    offered by the nominee and whether their solutions are uniquely set apart from others in the industry.
    IntegrityJudges will evaluate integrity by the ethical standards the nominee upholds, their commitment
    to their chosen path and accuracy of the information provided in the nomination.
    LeadershipJudges will evaluate this area by evaluating the nominee’s ability to lead others through their strategic vision,
    commitment and service.
    They will also look at what extent the nominee is viewed as a role model by others.
    Project ImpactThe judges will assess the impact the nominee’s work or project has had on their organization,
    community or industry.
    SustainabilityThe judges will assess sustainability of the initiatives or projects submitted to establish
    continuity and tenability.

    Public Voting

    After the due diligence and the judging stage, the remaining nominees will be presented to the public for voting. This will be done on the World Energy Day website. Nominees can share their nominations on social media platforms and ask for votes.

    Announcement of Winners

    The winners of the awards will be established from a combination of the judges and the public votes and will be awarded during the World Energy Day Conference Cocktail on 23rd October 2020.